Central Australia and The Dinosaur Trail – 28 June to 25 July 2021


Copied from old website on behalf of David Grime


Starting with Trip 1 - 4 weeks around Central Australia - west through Tibooburra and Cameron Corner, down the Strzelecki Track to Marree, up the Oodnadatta Track to Oodnadatta, then on to Dalhousie Springs, Mt Dare, Chambers Pillar and Uluru (Ayers Rock). We would then head across to Alice Springs via Kings Canyon and the Western MacDonnell Ranges, then take the Plenty Highway to northern central QLD and spend a few days on the Dinosaur Trail - Boulia, Winton, Richmond and ending up in Hughenden. From there, return to Sydney via Longreach and Charleville, making the whole trip 28 days - 28 June to 25 July Sydney to Sydney. Offroad Camper Trailers welcome!

But wait, there is more.

From the end of the Dinosaur Trail you can join Di and John for Trip 2 – to Cape York and back in July/August. See separate post http://www.sydneyjeepclub.com/showth...21-July-August

But first, Three States and a Territory - Central Australia and The Dinosaur Trail

Part 1 – Sydney to Yulara (Uluru)
Day 1 – Monday 28 June - Sydney to Byrock via Mudgee, Dubbo and Nyngan - 680km (tar)
Day 2 – Tuesday 29 June - Byrock to Tibooburra via Bourke and Wanaaring - 497km (tar and dirt)
Day 3 – Wednesday 30 June - Tibooburra to Lyndhurst via Cameron Corner and the Strzelecki Track - 576km (dirt)
Day 4 – Thursday 1 July - Lyndhurst to Coward Springs via Maree and the Oodnadatta Track - 210km (tar and dirt)
Day 5 – Friday 2 July - Coward Springs to Oodnadatta via William Creek and Alegebuckina Bridg - 278km (dirt)
Day 6 – Saturday 3 July - Oodnadatta to Dalhousie Springs - 164km (dirt)
Day 7 – Sunday 4 July - Dalhousie Springs to Mt Dare - 69km (dirt)
Day 8 – Monday 5 July - Mt Dare to Chambers Pillar via Finke - 273km (dirt)
Day 9 – Tuesday 6 July - Chambers Pillar to Erldunda - 247km (dirt and tar)
Day 10 – Wednesday 7 July - Erldunda to Yulara and Yulara to Uluru (sunset sightseeing) - 277km (tar)

If you have family that could fly in, they could join you at Yulara for Part 2.

Part 2 – Uluru to Alice Springs via Kings Canyon (Watarrka) and the Western McDonnell Ranges – The Red Centre Way
Day 11 – Thursday 8 July - Sightseeing around Uluru and Kata Tjuta - 120km (tar)
Day 12 – Friday 9 July - Yulara to Watarrka (Kings Canyon) - 303km (tar)
Day 13 – Saturday 10 July - Watarrka to Glen Helen Gorge McDonnell Ranges via Red Centre Way and Gosse Bluff - 237km (dirt & tar)
Day 14 – Sunday 11 July - Glen Helen Gorge to Alice Springs via Ormiston Gorge, Serpentine Gorge, Standley Chasm, Simpsons Gap - 132km (tar)
Day 15 – Monday 12 July - Lay Day / Sightseeing around Alice Springs

If you had family that flew in to Yulara, they could fly home from Alice Springs.

Note, if you only have three weeks to spare and wish to return to Sydney early - you MAY choose to return direct:
Either Coober Pedy, Port Augusta, Mildura, Wagga Wagga = 2773km
Or Coober Pedy, Port Augusta, Broken Hill, Cobar, Dubbo = 2784km
Either way 4 to 5 days depending on driving style. Total = 19 or 20 Days Sydney to Sydney.

But, we’d much rather that everyone continue on for:

Part 3 – Alice Springs to the The Dinosaur Trail
Day 16 – Tuesday 13 July - Alice Springs to The Gemtree via the Plenty Hwy - 137km (tar)
Day 17 – Wednesday 14 July - The Gemtree to Tobermorey Station via Jervois - 421km (dirt)
Day 18 – Thursday 15 July - Tobermorey Station to Boulia - 249km (dirt & tar)
Day 19 – Friday 16 July - Boulia to Winton plus the Age of Dinosaurs Museum - 410km (tar)
Day 20 – Saturday 17 July - Around Winton - the Dinosaur Stampede at Lark Quarry Conservation Park - 220km (tar)
Day 21 – Sunday 18 July - Winton to Richmond - 229km (tar)
Day 22 – Monday 19 July - Around Richmond - 50km (tar)
Day 23 – Tuesday 20 July - Richmond to Hughenden and around town - 216km (tar)

If you have another three weeks to spare, from Hughenden, Di and John are going to head North and do Cape York!

Part 4 - Return to Sydney
Day 24 – Wednesday 21 July - Hughendon to Longreach via Muttaburra – where the Muttaburrasaurus was found - 331km (tar)
Day 25 – Thursday 22 July - Around Longreach - the Qantas Museum and the Stockman's Hall of Fame - 50km (tar)
Day 26 – Friday 23 July - Longreach to Charleville - 516km (tar)
Day 27 – Saturday 24 July - Charleville to Nyngan - 657km (tar)
Day 28 – Sunday 25 July - Nyngan to Sydney - 554km (tar)

Total Distance Sydney to Sydney = 8100km
Longest Distance Between Fuel Stations = Jervois to Boulia 470km

Please consider, and post up on this thread if you are would like to come. Several people have expressed interest in this trip, but this is the Definite list. If you would like more information, please PM me with your email address and I can send a full Itinerary. This is a long trip, and there will be some long days of driving. Given the tracks and distances we could manage 10 to 12 Jeeps.

Please PM me, or post on this thread if you have any questions.

Definites
1. DaveG (Whole Trip)
2. TimG (Whole Trip)
3. GregD 
4. KevinF (Whole Trip unless passenger can only do Parts 1 and 2)
5. Nolan (Whole Trip)
6. Eva + Chris (Whole Trip)
7. JamesT and family (for Parts 1 and 2 return home from Alice Springs)
8. BigRig - Raja - and family (for Part 2 Yulara to Alice Springs)
9. AdrianB


Thanks,
Dave


Copyright 2020 The Sydney JP Four Wheel Drive Club
Powered by Wild Apricot Membership Software